Nutrition Tools at UBC
This page helps you navigate menu icons, allergen lists, nutrition information and online menus like a pro.
Menus in many UBC Food Service locations are marked with icons. These icons let you know if a food item is prepared to meet your dietary preferences.
Identifies menu items that fit a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, including eggs, dairy and honey.
Identifies menu items that are made from plant-based foods only. Menu choices with this icon exclude eggs, dairy, honey and any other animal-derived ingredients.
Made Without Gluten*
Identifies menu items that are made without ingredients containing gluten.
Identifies menu items using sustainable seafood that is caught or farmed in a way that ensures the long-term health and stability of that species.
Identifies menu items that only contain third-party Halal-certified meat.
We cannot guarantee items made in-house are gluten-free due to the risk of cross-contact. If you have celiac disease or a gluten allergy please let the chef or server know before ordering.
UBC Food Services takes food allergies seriously. The most common allergens are labelled on all prepared food items – peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, milk, eggs, sesame, soy, fish, shellfish, mustard, sulphites and gluten.
We do our best to accommodate students with allergies. Here are three ways to prepare for a year free from allergic reactions:
Ask before you eat
Always tell your server about your allergy before ordering. Ingredients can vary at any given meal. If you have any questions about ingredients or preparation, ask to speak with a chef or manager before placing your order.
Need Some Support?
Ask a Question
No time to meet up? Students in residence can email our Registered Dietitians with food or nutrition questions.